Monday, May 31, 2010

Georgia Fields

Georgia Fields was featured here quite a while ago when she still was Georgia Fields & The Freeways. Georgia Fields, is currently preparing the finishing touches on her debut  solo album. Recorded in school theatres, lounge rooms and Melbourne’s iconic studio ‘Atlantis Sound’ over a period of over 12 months, the forthcoming LP is an fitting example of Fields’ unique ability to combine the childlike naivety of experimental sounds with mature and considered orchestral arrangements. The result is a collection of authentic pop songs, in a sonically eccentric package. Album collaborators include multi-instrumentalist extraordinaire, Judith Hamann (cello, harp, vocals, piano, and more)... and ARIA & APRA-awarded Greg Arnold of Australian folk/rock institution Things of Stone and Wood in the producer’s seat (Carus; Skipping Girl Vinegar). ‘One Finger’, the first single from Fields’ forthcoming record, was released in August 2009 on Popboomerang Records. The sauntering strum-along tells a cheeky tale of a fight for the upper hand in a passive-aggressive friendship. The second single, ‘Something Borrowed, Something Blue’, was released in April 2010, with the album following in August 2010. Since her debut in 2007, Georgia has garnered a reputation for her live shows. Her ‘mini-indie-orchestra’ is an impressive 12-piece ensemble of musical heavyweights, featuring a string quartet, brass, woodwind, tuned percussion, full band, and even a cordless drill. Most recently she was named Frankie Magazine’s ‘New Favourite Band’ (March/April 2010 issue).

@ Melbourne, Australia
♫ Acoustic, Folk, Pop
♥ Something Borrowed, Something Blue (mp3)
▸ Myspace

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Free Music: Bella Ruse

Sorry for the lack of updates lately, have been hitchiking last weekend, but am back with a new "free music" post, I love to share these FREE downloads. Enjoy! In the last year, minimalist folk duo Bella Ruse have proven themselves to be a talented hardworking band, going on three national tours and recording three EPs. Their simple but engagingly intimate show has impressed festival and club audiences from their hometown of Minneapolis to Seattle to Hollywood, and their songs Push On and Dark Horse have received radio and podcast play worldwide. They have also fully funded their upcoming full length album via with the generous support of their fans all across the country. After only a year together, band members Kay and Joseph are poised to have a big impact on the national scene. You can now download their selftitled EP for FREE, click here.

1. Push On (mp3)
2. Dark Horse (mp3)
3. Remember Me
4. J' ai Presque Peur
5. Hold Me Close
6. Heart Of Everyone


Wednesday, May 12, 2010

The Music Dept.

Again, a tv show introduced me to great new music. This time it was in the amazing last episode of One Tree Hill, that I first heard The Music Dept. The Music Dept. are Amy Wallace (singer/songwriter), Jonathan Korszyk (singer/songwriter), and Chris Franz (producer/songwriter) who crossed paths late 2009 while cutting their teeth in the Los Angeles music scene. Franz was playing lead guitar for Wallace at venues like Hotel CafĂ© and Room 5, while concurrently producing Korszyk’s band Vienne. Discovering a unique chemistry, the three decided to create a new project, centered on the idea of writing and releasing singles, instead of writing a load of songs to release an album, which they use to create awareness about social issues and the nonprofit organizations working to make a difference. They may be a new name to music fans, but is wasting no time in making its voice heard. Last monday The Music Dept. gained national attention when it’s third release, “Already Fell,” was featured on One Tree Hill. The band is currently recording its next batch of songs and I can't wait to hear what they sound like when they are releasing 'em this summer!

@ Los Angeles, USA
♫ Indie, Folk, Pop
♥ Already Fell (mp3) [BUY]
▸ Myspace

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Free Music: He Is We

He is We are Trevor Kelly (acoustic guitar) and Rachel Taylor (vocals). They met working at Ted Brown Music in Tacoma, WA. When you spend a lot of time with someone and you don’t end up hating them… chances are you’re going to be great pals. They both played music but different kinds. Rachel is into indie pop,melodic metal and girlie stuff. Trevor is into the hardcore metal that talks about bloody things and such. Oh the madness! But it just clicked…And they started writing songs together. The band has changed its members around a bit trying to find the ones that fit. Its all about the right combination. Everythings finally settling down now and they are currently in the process of recording and releasing their debut EP. They recently released “A Mess It Grows” on iTunes, the first single of the upcoming EP. To keep you busy till the full EP drops they decided to share all the music they’ve done up to now for FREE on their Bandcamp page. So don’t hesitate but start downloading already!

1. I Wouldn't Mind
2. Blame It On The Rain
3. Breathe
4. Pardon Me
5. Blame It On The Rain
6. Give It All (mp3)
7. Happily Ever After (mp3)
8. Light A Way
9. Pardon Me
10. Pour Me Out
11. Too Beautiful
12. Radio


Friday, May 7, 2010

Jess Penner

Growing up on a small Banana farm in Hawaii to a free spirited song writing, husky voiced father and beautiful, swing dancing, business savvy mother. Jess Penner’s childhood was sweeter than most. Perfect sunny days walking barefoot to the beach and fishing with the neighborhood boys would be more than a dream for most kids. But Jess had dreams much bigger. Signing her first record deal at age 16, Jess spent the next decade fully committed to her dream. Two bands, seven nationally distributed records and over 1000 live shows later Jess is now releasing her debut solo album "Love Love Love" that's filled with quirky, fun pop songs that Jess hopes "to make people smile, laugh, and feel alive" And after one listen only, it already became clear that she gloriously succeeded doing all of that with this album that brings summer even closer.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Free Music: Stef Lang

Last year, Stephanie Lang (aka Stef Lang)was featured on here. The post ended with the promise of an upcoming EP, now almost eight months later Stephanie's debut album is about to be released. The good thing is that you can actualy download it now, for FREE!! For the ones not familiar with Stef's music yet, head over to the earlier post, or read the small biography beneath.
I'm originally from a small town (Ladysmith, BC on Vancouver Island). Most people can't figure out my ethnicity, so here's a secret...(I'm half Filipino, half Canadian). At 17, I left small town life and moved to Vancouver to pursue music. The last three years have been spent playing every pub, bar, club, cafe I could weasel my way into, writing over 250 songs to hone my craft, and building relationships with very diverse and talented people. I'm 21 now, just released my EP "Blood and Bravery" via Universal/Hipjoint Muisc, which I wrote, recorded and produced. My full length debut album "The Underdog" is set to drop June 1st 2010

1. The Good, The Bad, The Ugly
2. The Phoenix
3. The Underdog
4. Bend A Little, Bend A Lot
5. Mr. Immature
6. Slave2Love
7. Closet Freak
8. Be Gentle
9. The Other Side
10. Straitjacket
11. Foolish
12. Diamonds